Croatia is a country located in Central and Southeast Europe. It is one of the successor states of Yugoslavia, and borders Slovenia to the northwest, Hungary to the northeast, Bosnia and Herzegovina to the southeast, Montenegro to the south, and shares a maritime border with Italy to the southwest. Croatia covers 56,594 square kilometers (21,851 square miles) and has a population of 4.28 million. Croatia's capital and largest city is Zagreb.