Luxembourg is a landlocked country in Western Europe. It is bordered by Belgium to the west and north, Germany to the east, and France to the south. Its capital, Luxembourg City, is one of the four official capitals of the European Union and the seat of the Court of Justice of the European Union, the highest judicial authority in the EU. Luxembourg had a population of 602,005 in October 2012, which is more than three times the population of the country's second most populous city, Esch-sur-Alzette.