Slovenia is a landlocked country located in Southern Europe. It borders Italy to the west, Austria to the north, Hungary to the northeast, and Croatia to the south and southeast. Slovenia covers an area of 20,273 square kilometers (7,827 sq mi) and has a population of 2.08 million. The capital and largest city is Ljubljana.